BrandArena: Barcelona Wins 7th Spanish League Title in 10 Years

Monday 18 May 2015

Barcelona Wins 7th Spanish League Title in 10 Years

Barcelona have clinched the Spanish league title thanks to a 1-0 victory at the home of reigning champions Atletico Madrid.

A year ago, Atlético Madrid won the La Liga title with a 1-1 draw at the Camp Nou and on Sunday, Barcelona returned the favour and brought the trophy back home with a 0-1 win at the Vicente Calderón, as they took the first leg of their possible treble with a game to spare.

It took a second half strike from Barcelona’s magician, Lionel Messi to break down a rugged Atletico Madrid side, who weren’t about to hand over their title without a battle.

As the second half ticked away, Real Madrid went one up against Espanyol, meaning Barça needed a goal to take the title this weekend and on 65 minutes, Alba worked the ball inside to Messi who played a one-two with Pedro and tucked it home with his left peg through a forest of legs. A brilliant goal fit for Champions!

It was Messi's 41st league goal of the season, Barcelona's 13th win in 14 La Liga matches and sees the club win their 23rd Spanish title. Messi has now won 22nd trophy with Barcelona.

No comments:

Post a Comment