BrandArena: Roger Federer named Laureus Sportsman of the Year

Wednesday, 28 February 2018

Roger Federer named Laureus Sportsman of the Year

Tennis legend Roger Federer has been named the most decorated winner in the history of Laureus World Sports Awards after he won twin honours, his sixth, which includes the Sportsman and Comeback titles at the 18th edition of the prestigious awards ceremony.

In the Sportsman of the Year category, Federer emeged ahead of Rafael Nadal and Cristiano Ronaldo to bag the honours. The Swiss tennis star, who won the Australian Open and Wimbledon this year, was awarded the Comeback of the Year award following his achievements after making a comeback from a serious knee injury.

In the female's category, American tennis great Serena Williams won the Sportswoman of the Year Award following her Australian Open success, her 23rd Grand Slam title.

"This is a very special moment for me. Everyone knows how highly I value my Laureus Awards, so to win another would have been wonderful, but to win two is a truly unique honour. It was so unexpected", Federer said after receive the awards. I am delighted and I would like to thank the Laureus Academy for all their support."

"It was an unforgettable year for me, to come back after a very difficult 2016, and these awards just make it even more memorable. When I won my first Laureus Award back in 2005, if you had said I would have ended up winning six I would not have believed you. Its been an amazing ride."

French Vende Globe winning sailor Armel Le Clac'h won the Action Sportsperson of the Year Award, while Swiss triple world champion wheelchair racer Marcel Hug won the World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award, for his 800m, 1,500m and 5,000m titles in the T54 class at the 2017 World Para Athletics Championships in London.

Laureus Awards Winners:

• Roger Federer: World No. 1 tennis star receives Sportsman and Comeback Awards to become most decorated winner in the history of Laureus

• Serena Williams: Wins Sportswoman crown – her fifth Laureus Award

• Sergio Garcia: Wins Breakthrough Award after Masters success – his 74th Major attempt

• Team of the Year: Four-time F1 Constructors Champions Mercedes-AMG Petronas

• JJ Watt: Receives Laureus Sporting Inspiration Award for his remarkable fundraising efforts after Houston was devastated by Hurricane Harvey

• Laureus Sport for Good Award: Active Communities Network

• Francesco Totti wins Academy Exceptional Achievement Award and is inducted into Laureus Academy alongside fellow one-club man Ryan Giggs

• Edwin Moses honoured by Laureus Academy with Lifetime Achievement Award

• Swiss triple world champion wheelchair racer Marcel Hug wins Disability Award

• Vendee Globe-winning sailor Armel Le ClĂ©ac’h receives Action Sportsperson accolade

• Laureus Best Sporting Moment of the Year won by Chapecoense, the only Award voted for by sports fans around the world 

No comments:

Post a comment