BrandArena: The Future Awards Africa 2015 Nominees Announced

Wednesday 25 November 2015

The Future Awards Africa 2015 Nominees Announced

Following the announcement of nominees for The Future Awards Africa (TFAA) 2015 in a continent-wide broadcast on EbonyLife TV and Channels TV on Monday, the awards yesterday unveiled photos of the nominees in an exciting art campaign with Comic Republic.
The 50 young Africans who are the nominees for the 2015 season – with nominees from 11 countries across Africa- are an inspiring mix of superstars like television host Trevor Noah (South Africa), singer Yemi Alade (Nigeria)and change makers such as Botswansian Queen Baboloki and Segawa Patrick (Uganda).
The comic illustrations, created by Comic Republic, a comic start up passionate about expiring young Africans through comics, plays on the nominees’ individual story arcs, as well as TFAA’s tradition of inspiring the continent through enterprise and industry.

Superheroes don’t always have to be fictional,” said Eduvia Oyaide of Comic Republic. “We are inspired by the incredible work of TFAA over 10 years and then by 2015 crop of nominees who represent Africa’s youth population making extraordinary efforts to better their communities. We imagine this set of future leaders, thinkers and innovators as superheroes who have come to reclaim and rewrite the narrative of the African continent.
“We are happy to partner with Africa’s most prestigious youth event in celebrating Africa’s next set of leaders.
This year’s nominees, following an open call for nominations, come from across Kenya, Liberia, Zimbabwe, Uganda, Botswana, Ghana, Nigeria, Gambia, Rwanda, Tanzania and Cameroon.
The nominees participated in a judging process supervised by a jury including the Board of Judges and an Independent Audit Committee.
Meet The Future Awards Africa Class of 2015:

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Advocacy & Activism
1. Anoziva Marindire (Zimbabwe)
2. Olumayowa Okediran (Nigeria)
3. Segawa Patrick (Uganda)
4. Sakar Uchechukwu (Nigeria)
5. Queen Baboloki (Botswana)
The Future Awards Africa Prize in Education
1. Josephine Marie Goodwill (Ghana)
2. Abena Agyemang (Ghana)
3. Cynthia Onwuchuruba (Nigeria)
4. Lily Kudzro (Ghana)
5. Maccathy Lomotey (Ghana)
The Future Awards Africa Prize in Enterprise Support
1. Clarisse Iribagize. (Rwanda)
2. Enow Awah Georges Stevens (Ghana)
3. Olufunbi Falayi (Nigeria)
4. Catherine Mahugu (Kenya)
5. Venuste Kubwimana (Kenya)
The Future Awards Africa Prize in Community Action
1. Edmund Duodu Antwerp (Ghana)
2. Kelvin Mutize (Zimbabwe)
3. Elijah Amoo Addy (Ghana)
4. Felix Richard Manyogote (Tanzania)
5. Daniel Nii Adom Oodnkor (Ghana)
The Future Awards Africa Prize in Technology
1. Rasheeda Mandeeya Yehuza (Ghana)
2. Joshua Ihejiamaizu (Nigeria)
3. Abiola Olaniran (Nigeria)
4. Duran De Villiers (South Africa)
5. Arthur Zang (Cameroon)
The Future Awards Africa Prize in Entertainment
1. Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
2. Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
3. Refiloe Maele “Cassper Nyovest” Phoolo (South Africa)
4. Olamide “Badoo” Ayodeji (Nigeria)
5. Anne Kansiime (Uganda)
The Future Awards Africa Prize in Agriculture
1. Witness Sanga (Tanzania)
2. David Asiamah (Ghana)
3. Fanka A. Yenah (Cameroon)
4. Momarr Mass Taal (Gambia)
5. Lawrence Afere (Nigeria)
The Tony O. Elumelu Prize in Business
1. Samuel Malinga (Uganda)
2. Kasope Ladipo-Ajai (Kenya)
3. Evans Wadongo (Kenya)
4. Titus Mawano (Uganda)
5. Ali-shah Jivraj (Uganda)
The Future Awards Africa Prize in Public Service
1. Nkechi Okwuone (Nigeria)
2. Obiefule Iroabueke (Nigeria)
3. Emmanuel N. B. Flomo (Liberia)
4. Lefatshe Anna Moagi (South Africa)
5. Sakaja Johnson (Kenya)
The Future Awards Africa Prize for Young Person of the Year
1. Adesoji Solanke (Nigeria)
2. Teresa Mbagaya (Kenya)
3. Barclay Okari (Kenya)
4. Philip Obaji Jnr. (Nigeria)
5. Trevor Noah (South Africa)
The Ford Foundation Prize in Youth Employment (Winner gets $5000)
Successful applicants were interviewed in selected cities Port Harcourt, Abuja, Enugu, Ibadan, Kano and Lagos.
With the goal of the Ford Foundation in West Africa to improve governance systems and livelihood opportunities and TFAA to inspire the entire continent of Africa through the works of her citizenry, this award is designed to recognize and support young Nigerians between the ages of 18 and 33 involved in a social program or projects that contribute to fight youth unemployment in Nigeria.”
  • Kabiru Seidu-Dankata
  • Eze Ifedy-Ralph
  • Olamide Adeleye
  • Ukinebo Dare
  • Ifeanyi Aniagoh
  • Olajide Kabir-Tosin
llustrations by Comic Republic, a comic start up passionate about youth empowerment through comics.
Read their comics free on
Profiles of the nominees are now available on the awards website –
The Future Awards Africa 2015 – the 10th anniversary – will hold on Sunday, 6 December, 2015. It is powered by RED and held in partnership with the Ford Foundation, Microsoft, the US Consulate, the Canadian High Commission Nigeria and The Tony Elumelu Foundation. Broadcast partners are Africa Magic, Channels TV and EbonyLife TV.
More information about the awards can be found on or on Twitter/Instagram via @tfaafrica. The official hashtags are #TFAA10 and #AfricaNeedsYou.
Read their comics free on

No comments:

Post a Comment