BrandArena: Grammy Awards announce 2024 nominations. Here's a full list of the nominees.

Friday 10 November 2023

Grammy Awards announce 2024 nominations. Here's a full list of the nominees.

...Burna Boy, Davido, Ayra Starr, Tyla, ASAKE & Olamide Make the Best African Music Performance Category List 

The nominees for the 66th Grammy Awards have been released, and SZA leads the pack with nine nods, followed by Phoebe Bridgers, Serban Ghenea, and Victoria Monét, who each have seven nominations. 

Jack Antonoff, Jon Batiste, boygenius, Brandy Clark, Miley Cyrus, Billie Eilish, Olivia Rodrigo, and Taylor Swift had six nominations each.

The Grammy Awards will return to Los Angeles' Arena on Sunday, Feb. 4, 2024, with the show airing live on the CBS Television Network and streaming on Paramount+ at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT. 

"We are thrilled to kick off GRAMMY season with this year's diverse and genre-bending slate of nominees, representing the best of their craft and an incredible year of music," Harvey Mason Jr., CEO of the Recording Academy, said in a statement. "From breakthrough acts to legacy artists, we are amazed by all the musicians recognized for their outstanding contributions to music today. We can't wait to spotlight these remarkable creators and celebrate another amazing year in music on Feb. 4."

Three new categories have been added to this year's awards: Best African Music Performance, Best Alternative Jazz Album, and Best Pop Dance Recording. 

"The most important of these three is probably African Music Performance," Joe Levy, contributing editor at Rolling Stone and entertainment editor at Observer, told CBS News. "The Grammys are looking to acknowledge how African music and African recording artists have been just growing globally and achieving huge commercial success in the U.S."

Levy also noted that all but one of the candidates for Album of the Year are women.

Here is a look at the nominees:

Record of the Year
"Worship" – Jon Batiste
"Not Strong Enough" – boygenius
"Flowers" – Miley Cyrus
"What Was I Made For?" [from the motion picture "Barbie"] – Billie Eilish
"On My Mama" – Victoria Monét
"vampire" – Olivia Rodrigo
"Anti-Hero" – Taylor Swift
"Kill Bill" – SZA

Album of the Year
World Music Radio – Jon Batiste
the record – boygenius
Endless Summer Vacation – Miley Cyrus
Did you know that there's a tunnel under Ocean Blvd – Lana Del Rey
The Age of Pleasure – Janelle Monáe
GUTS – Olivia Rodrigo
Midnights – Taylor Swift

Song of the Year
"A&W" – Jack Antonoff, Lana Del Rey & Sam Dew, songwriters (Lana Del Rey)
"Anti-Hero" – Jack Antonoff & Taylor Swift, songwriters (Taylor Swift)
"Butterfly" – Jon Batiste & Dan Wilson, songwriters (Jon Batiste)
"Dance the Night" (from Barbie the Album) – Caroline Ailin, Dua Lipa, Mark Ronson & Andrew Wyatt, songwriters (Dua Lipa)
"Flowers" – Miley Cyrus, Gregory Aldae Hein & Michael Pollack, songwriters (Miley Cyrus)
"Kill Bill" – Rob Bisel, Carter Lang & Solána Rowe, songwriters (SZA)
"vampire" – Daniel Nigro & Olivia Rodrigo, songwriters (Oliva Rodrigo)
"What Was I Made For?" [from the motion picture Barbie] – Billie Eilish O'Connell & Finneas O'Connell, songwriters (Billie Eilish)

Best New Artist
Gracie Abrams
Fred again..
Ice Spice
Jelly Roll
Coco Jones
Noah Kahan
Victoria Monét
The War and Treaty

Producer of the Year, Non-Classical
Jack Antonoff
Dernst "D'Mile" Emile II
Metro Boomin
Daniel Nigro

Songwriter of the Year, Non-Classical
Edgar Barrera
Jessie Jo Dillon
Shane McAnally
Theron Thomas
Justin Tranter

Best Pop Vocal Album
Chemistry – Kelly Clarkson
Endless Summer Vacation – Miley Cyrus
GUTS – Olivia Rodrigo
- (Subtract) – Ed Sheeran
Midnights – Taylor Swift

Best Pop Dance Recording
"Baby Don't Hurt Me" – David Guetta, Anne-Marie & Coi Leray
"Miracle" – Calvin Harris Featuring Ellie Goulding
"Padam Padam" – Kylie Minogue
"One in a Million" – Bebe Rexha & David Guetta
"Rush" – Troye Sivan

Best Dance/Electronic Music Album
Playing Robots Into Heaven – James Blake
For That Beautiful Feeling – The Chemical Brothers
Actual Life 3 (January 1-September 9 2022) – Fred again..
Kx5 – Kx5
Quest For Fire – Skrillex

Best Rock Album
But Here We Are – Foo Fighters
Starcatcher – Greta Van Fleet
72 Seasons – Metallica
This Is Why – Paramore
In Times New Roman... – Queens of the Stone Age

Best Alternative Music Album
The Car – Arctic Monkeys
the record – boygenius
Did you know that there's a tunnel under Ocean Blvd – Lana Del Rey
Cracker Island – Gorillaz
I Inside the Old Year Dying – PJ Harvey

Best R&B Album
Girls Night Out – Babyface
What I Didn't Tell You (Deluxe) – Coco Jones
Special Occasion – Emily King
JAGUAR II – Victoria Monét
CLEAR 2: SOFT LIFE EP – Summer Walker

Best Melodic Rap Performance
"Sittin' on Top of the World" – Burna Boy Featuring 21 Savage
"Attention" – Doja Cat
"Spin Bout U" – Drake & 21 Savage
"All My Life" – Lil Durk Featuring J. Cole
"Low" – SZA

Best Rap Song
"Attention" – Rogét Chahayed, Amala Zandile Dlamini & Ari Starace, songwriters (Doja Cat)
"Barbie World" [from Barbie the Album] – Isis Naija Gaston, Ephrem Louis Lopez Jr. & Onika Maraj, songwriters (Nicki Minaj & Ice Spice Featuring Aqua)
"Just Wanna Rock" – Mohamad Camara, Symere Woods & Javier Mercado, songwriters (Lil Uzi Vert)
"Rich Flex" – Brytavious Chambers, Isaac "Zac" De Boni, Aubrey Graham, J. Gwin, Anderson Hernandez, Michael "Finatik" Mule & Shéyaa Bin Abraham-Joseph, songwriters (Drake & 21 Savage)
"SCIENTISTS & ENGINEERS" – Andre Benjamin, Paul Beauregard, James Blake, Michael Render, Tim Moore & Dion Wilson, songwriters (Killer Mike Featuring André 3000, Future & Eryn Allen Kane)
Best Alternative Jazz Album
Love In Exile – Arooj Aftab, Vijay Iyer, Shahzad Ismaily
Quality Over Opinion – Louis Cole
SuperBlue: The Iridescent Spree – Kurt Elling, Charlie Hunter, SuperBlue
Live at the Piano – Cory Henry
The Omnichord Real Book – Meshell Ndegeocello

Best Country Album
Rolling Up the Welcome Mat – Kelsea Ballerini
Brothers Osborne – Brothers Osborne
Zach Bryan – Zach Bryan
Rustin' in the Rain – Tyler Childers
Bell Bottom Country – Lainey Wilson
Best Americana Album

Brandy Clark – Brandy Clark
The Chicago Sessions – Rodney Crowell
You're the One – Rhiannon Giddens
Weathervanes – Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
The Returner – Allison Russell

Best Música Mexicana Album (Including Tejano)
Bordado a Mano – Ana Bárbara
La Sánchez – Lila Downs
Motherflower – Flor de Toloache
Amor Como en las Películas de Antes – Lupita Infante
GÉNESIS – Peso Pluma

Best African Music Performance
"Amapiano" – ASAKE & Olamide
"City Boys" – Burna Boy
"UNAVAILABLE" – Davido Featuring Musa Keys
"Rush" – Ayra Starr
"Water" – Tyla

Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media (Includes Film and Televison)
Barbie – Mark Ronson & Andrew Wyatt, composers
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Ludwig Göransson, composer
The Fabelmans – John Williams, composer
Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny – John Williams, composer
Oppenheimer – Ludwig Göransson, composer

No comments:

Post a Comment