BrandArena: Aubameyang Unseat Toure as Glo-CAF Footballer of the Year

Friday 8 January 2016

Aubameyang Unseat Toure as Glo-CAF Footballer of the Year

Gabonese forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has been voted the CAF Footballer of the Year while Yaya Toure was named runners-up at the 2015 Glo-CAF Awards held Thursday night in  Abuja, Nigeria.

The Borussia Dortmund of Germany striker is now the top scorer in the Bundesliga with 18 goals. He also scored a goal as Gabon exited the Orange AFCON 2015 at the group stage.

For the event host Nigeria, Golden Eaglets striker, Victor Osimhen bagged the Youth Player of the Year, becoming the second Nigerian to win the award after Kelechi Iheanacho last year.

President Muhammadu Buhari was honoured with with Platinum Award and Dream Team’s Oghenekaro Etebo won the Most Promising Talent Award.

Elephants of Cote d’ Ivorie was voted the best team while the Cameroon national women’s team won the female category.

Coach Emmanuel Amuneke was also beaten to the Coach of the Year Award where French coach Herve Renard emerged tops.

Cameroonian Gaelle Enganamouit won the Women Player of the Year while Charles Kumi Gyami (Ghana) and Samuel Mbappe Leppe (Cameroon) were named African Legends.

No comments:

Post a Comment