BrandArena: End of an Era as Ton Vosloo steps down as Naspers Chair

Tuesday 21 April 2015

End of an Era as Ton Vosloo steps down as Naspers Chair

Ton Vosloo has stepped down as Naspers' non-executive chairperson. Independent non-executive directors Boetie van Zyl and Yuanhe Ma, also retired from the board on Friday, 17 April.

After a year’s sabbatical, Koos Bekker rejoins the board as non-executive chair.
Ton Vosloo (Photo: Edrea du Toit)
In a message to staff, Vosloo wrote: “I bid you farewell. It has been my great privilege to be associated with Naspers since May 1956, when I joined Die Oosterlig (now Die Burger-Oos) as a cub reporter. I leave you with a heavy heart but also with a light tread. Naspers and associates are in very good shape.”

Bekker said: “The board expressed its deep gratitude to these three directors for their commitment to our group over many years. Their unique contributions were highly valued and will be missed.”

Vosloo served on the Naspers board from March 1983. He chaired Naspers for 23 years, as well as various group companies and board committees. Van Zyl joined the Naspers board in January 1988. He served as independent lead director and on various other group structures. He also chaired the Naspers audit and risk committees. Ma served on the boards of Naspers group companies and committees since February 2003.

The Naspers board now comprises: Koos Bekker (chair); Bob van Dijk (CEO); Basil Sgourdos (CFO); Fred Phaswana (lead independent director); Ben van der Ross; Cobus Stofberg; Craig Enenstein; Debra Meyer; Don Eriksson; Fran du Plessis; Mark Sorour; Nolo Letele; Rachel Jafta; Roberto Oliveira de Lima; and Steve Pacak.

More information on the group is available on the website

No comments:

Post a Comment