BrandArena: 2015 Global Mobile Awards Holds Today

Tuesday 3 March 2015

2015 Global Mobile Awards Holds Today

The much awaited day is here. The 2015 Global Mobile Awards winners will be announced today (Tuesday, 3 March) at the Mobile World Congress in Barcelona.

The annual Awards will be presented at 14:30 in Auditorium 1, Hall 4, Fira Gran Via and is open to Mobile World Congress attendees from all shortlisted companies, regardless of pass type, as well as all other Mobile World Congress attendees holding Platinum, Gold, Silver or Press/Analyst passes.

The GSMA represents the interests of mobile operators worldwide, uniting nearly 800 operators with more than 250 companies in the broader mobile ecosystem, including handset and device makers, software companies, equipment providers and Internet companies, as well as organisations in adjacent industry sectors. The GSMA also produces industry-leading events such as Mobile World Congress, Mobile World Congress Shanghai and the Mobile 360 Series conferences.

The 2015 Global Mobile Awards will honour more than 40 winners over nine categories that include awards for “Best Mobile Handsets & Devices”, “Best Mobile Apps”, “Best Mobile Services”, “Best Mobile Technology” and “Social & Economic Development” and will also feature many new awards that showcase emerging trends in the mobile ecosystem. These include awards for wearable technologies, affordable smartphones, the Internet of Things and sectors such as retail and automotive, amongst others.

In addition, two new special awards have been introduced to mark the 20th anniversary of the Global Mobile Awards, including the “Young Mobile Innovator of the Year” specifically designed to showcase young and exciting new talent, and the “Connected Women: Leadership in Industry” award that will recognise initiatives that attract and retain women and girls in mobile and telecommunications.

The Global Mobile Awards kicked off with the presentation of the “Government Mobile Excellence Awards” on Tuesday, 3rd March. These awards, which recognise world-class leadership, will be announced at the GSMA’s Ministerial Programme and will include the “Government Leadership Award” and the “Spectrum for Mobile Broadband Award”.

The Global Mobile Awards are judged by more than 300 independent experts, analysts, journalists, academics, and in some cases, mobile operator representatives. The winner of the “Outstanding Overall Mobile Technology – The CTOs’ Choice” award will be selected by a panel of more than 17 industry-leading CTOs from the worldwide operator community. These include CTOs from América Móvil, AT&T, Cable & Wireless, Deutsche Telekom, Etisalat, Meteor, Oi, Orange, PCCW, Singtel, SK Telecom, Smartfren, Telefónica, Three, Turkcell and Vodafone.

Yesterday, Jamal Ibrahim, Managing Director and CEO of Axiata Group, was announced as the recipient of the 2015 GSMA Chairman’s Award. This award, established in 1996, is the GSMA’s most prestigious award and recognises outstanding personal contribution to the growth and development of mobile communications around the world.

No comments:

Post a Comment