BrandArena: Innovation Prize for Africa 2014 Finalists Announced

Thursday 10 April 2014

Innovation Prize for Africa 2014 Finalists Announced

The African Innovation Foundation (AIF) has announced the finalists of the Innovation Prize for Africa (IPA) 2014, picking 10 African innovators who have created practical solutions to some of the continent’s problems, ranging from a domestic waste biogas system to a wafer matrix for paediatric antiretroviral (ARV) drug treatment.

The winners of the IPA 2014 will be announced at an awards ceremony on 5 May in Abuja, Nigeria, where keynote speaker, the Honourable Minister Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Nigeria’s Minister of finance, will highlight the importance of innovation to unlock Africa’s potential for sustainable development and economic growth. The winner will receive USD 100 000 for the best innovation based on marketability, originality, scalability, social impact and clear business potential. A runner up will receive USD 25 000 for the best commercial potential and another winner will receive USD 25 000 as a special prize for innovation with the highest social impact. Prior to the awards ceremony, a roundtable featuring innovation experts will take place, to address the theme “A Path to Building Industrial Nation Skillsets in Africa”.

The finalists were chosen from almost 700 applications from 42 countries and, according to AIF, they represent Africans’ potential to address the challenges unique to the continent. The winners of the IPA 2014 will be announced at an awards ceremony on May 5 in Abuja, Nigeria.

The IPA 2014 finalists are: Ashley Uys (South Africa) for OculusID Impairment Screening, Daniel Gitau Thairu (Kenya) for Domestic Waste Biogas System, Elise Rasel Cloete (South Africa) for GMP Traceability Management Software CC, Joshua Okello (Kenya) for WinSenga, Logou Minsob (Togo) for Foufoumix, Dr Nicolaas Duneas (South Africa) for Altis Osteogenic Bone Matrix (Altis OBM), Maman Abdou Kane (Niger) for horticultural tele-irrigation, Melesse Temesgen (Ethiopia) for Aybar BBM, Sulaiman Bolarinde Famro (Nigeria) for Farmking Mobile Multi-crop Processor and Viness Pillay (South Africa) for WaferMatTM.

No comments:

Post a Comment