BrandArena: Nigeria to Host 2014 World Electronic Forum

Tuesday 4 February 2014

Nigeria to Host 2014 World Electronic Forum

The Board of Directors of the World Electronics Forum (WEF), through Consumer Electronics and Technologies Industry Association (CETIA) of Africa, has granted the Country Hosting Right (CHR) for the 19th World Electronics Forum 2014 to Nigeria.

WEF has also nominated Digital Africa Global Consult Limited, headed by Dr. Evans E. Woherem, as the event organizer. The 19th World Electronics Forum is therefore to be held alongside Digital Africa 2014 in Lagos, from May 20-22, 2014.

President of WEF, Mr. Tony Smith, said that, “We look forward to bringing the decision makers of the world ICT and consumer electronics industry to Nigeria next year, and we believe that this is a tremendous opportunity for Nigeria and the rest of Africa”.

According to Mr. Smith, “Nigeria has demonstrated its vast investment potentials by becoming the largest telecom market in Africa and the Middle East. The major goal of the 19th World Electronics Forum is therefore to engage the African telecommunications and IT markets, using Nigeria as the window”.

Chairman of Digital Africa Global Consult Limited, Dr. Evans Woherem, said that, “We are very delighted to use our Digital Africa platform to bring the world’s leading technology stars not only to meet hundreds of credible business leaders and entrepreneurs drawn from Nigeria, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Egypt, South Africa and the rest of the continent”. He reiterated that, “When it comes to the digital industry today, Africa is the last frontier and the toast of the rest of the world”.

WEF is the forum of CEOs and Directors of the global electronics industry associations of the leading economies of the world: USA, China, Japan, Germany, Britain, India, South Korea, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taiwan, Australia, Russia, Brazil, Philippines, Vietnam, etc. The 18th edition was hosted by Vietnam in 2013, the 17th edition was held in Philippines in 2012, and the 16th edition has hosted by USA in 2011.

Traditionally, the President or Prime Minister of the Host Country is the Special Guest of Honour at the Opening Ceremony Dinner of the four-day event, while the Governor or Premier of the Host State or Province is the Chief Host.

No comments:

Post a Comment