BrandArena: Recording academy to host Special merit awards ceremony

Friday, 17 January 2014

Recording academy to host Special merit awards ceremony

Wilshire Ebell Theatre, 4401 West 8th St. Los Angeles, will play host to the Special Merit Awards Ceremony of The Recording Academy on Saturday, Jan. 25, 2014.

The organisers will present  Lifetime Achievement Award, honoring lifelong artistic contributions to the recording medium, to the Beatles, Clifton Chenier, the Isley Brothers, Kraftwerk, Kris Kristofferson, Armando Manzanero, and Maud Powell; theTrustees Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to the industry in areas other than performance, to Rick Hall, Jim Marshall and Ennio Morricone; and the Technical GRAMMY Award, honoring an individual's and/or corporation's outstanding contributions of technical significance to the recording field, to Emile Berliner and Lexicon.

In its inaugural year, The Recording Academy and the GRAMMY Foundation will present the Music Educator Award to Kent Knappenberger. The Music Educator Award was established to recognize current educators (kindergarten through college, public and private schools) who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and who demonstrate a commitment to the broader cause of maintaining music education in the schools.
A formal acknowledgment of all recipients will be made during the 56th Annual GRAMMY Awards telecast, which will be held at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles on Sunday, Jan. 26, 2014.

Media check-in will commence from 1:30 p.m. while red-carpet interviews and award presentations will begin by 2 – 3 p.m. and 3 – 5 p.m. respectively.               

No comments:

Post a comment