Tuesday, 1 December 2015

Enrique, Bravo, Neymar and Messi clinch LFP Gala Awards

On Monday at the International Convention Centre in Barcelona, FC Barcelona were the stars of the show at the Spanish Football League (LFP) Gala Awards Ceremony for 2014/15.

Barca coach and players Luis Enrique, Claudio Bravo, Neymar and Leo Messi all claimed awards, the Argentine taking two accolades, to complement the League Championship claimed last season. All this coming on the same day FIFA announced Messi and Neymar on the shortlist of three for the Ballon d’Or 2015 with Luis Enrique also nominated on the shortlist for Best Coach of the Year.

A quartet of Barça figures were recognised at the ceremony for the role in the 2014/15 league season. The winners in each category were voted for by the captains from each club in the Spanish First Division.
(L-R): Claudio Bravo, Neymar and Leo Messi
Claudio Bravo won the award for best goalkeeper for a season in which he won the Zamora Trophy, conceding just 19 goals for Barça. The prize was handed to him by his team mate Neymar and the Chilean said in his winner’s speech “being here is an enormous privilege and receiving this award is a dream come true.” The Brazilian striker returned to the stage to receive his award as best player from the Americas, chosen by voters at the league’s official website laliga.es. “I am really happy to have won the award. I thank my team mates for all they do,” said Neymar.

Leo Messi picked up the award for best striker and the Argentine generously thanked others for their help in achieving this latest feat. “I share this with my team mates, especially Luis Suárez who was also nominated,” said the Barça number 10. Following that Messi also crowned best player and the Ballon d’Or nominee dedicated the prize to his son Thiago before adding “it is a proud moment to receive this award with so many great players in the league.”

No comments:

Post a Comment